Scope of Conferences

The TIME conferences - founded by ACDCA (Austrian Centre for Didactics of Computer Algebra) - deal primarily with didactical issues connected with the use of technology. The conferences for CAS in Education & Research are geared towards exploring the use of CAS software and symbolic calculators in education (at the high school, lycée, college and university levels) and towards using these tools in programming and research. These conferences are open to users of all symbolic/numeric systems (ie. not restricted to symbolic calculation as described). All interesting uses of technology related to mathematics education or innovative pedagogical approaches can form the basis of a conference lecture.


In 1992, ACDCA (Austrian Center for Didactics of Computer Algebra) began a conference series focusing on the use of symbolic calculation software in mathematics education. The first international conference dedicated to the use of the symbolic calculation software Derive took place in 1994. After that time, ACDCA and Derive conferences (to which the TI-92 symbolic calculator was added in 1996) were held in alternating years. In 2002, the two conferences were merged into one for the first time, in Vienna, Austria. In 2012, Derive conferences were renamed as "Conferences for CAS in Education & Research".

Previous Conferences


Organizing Committee

Local Organizing Committee

  • Adrián Durán Chavesti
  • Carlos Ramírez Ramos
  • Carmen Rocío Vite González
  • Eugenia Marmolejo Rivas
  • Homero Flores Samaniego
  • Josué Martínez Moreno
  • Manuel Falconi Magaña
  • María Ochoa Macedo
  • Ricardo Méndez Fragoso

Program committee for CAS

  • Michel Beaudin, Canada (Co-Chair)
  • Josef Böhm, Austria (Co-Chair)
  • José Luis Galán, Spain (Co-Chair)
  • Arturo Olvera, Mexico
  • Carl Leinbach, USA
  • Gabriel Aguilera Venegas, Spain
  • Jorge Enrique Fillao Leal, Spain
  • Jasna Kos, Slovenia
  • Karsten Schmidt, Germany
  • Mario Alberto Marín, Costa Rica
  • Pedro Rodríguez Cielos, Spain
  • Peter Flynn, Australia
  • Roman Hasek, Czech Republic
  • Sandy Van Wonterghem, Belgium
  • Thomas Müller, Austria
  • Víctor Larios Osorio, Mexico
  • Yolanda Padilla, Spain

Program committee for 14th ACDCA

  • Helmut Heugl, Austria (Co-Chair)
  • Homero Flores, Mexico (Co-Chair)
  • Djordje Kadijevich, Serbia
  • Koen Stulens, Belgium
  • Jean Jacques Dahan, France
  • Josef Lechner, Austria
  • Per G. Østerlie, Norway
  • Rainer Heinrich, Germany
  • Wade Ellis, USA
  • Walter Wegscheider, Austria
  • Wilfried Herget, Germany

Program committee for Tercer SUMEM

  • Manuel J. Falconi Magaña
  • Eugenia Marmolejo Rivas
  • Héctor Bénitez Pérez